Goetz named vice-chair of Council on Food, Agricultural and Resource Economics (C-FARE) Board of Directors

C-FARE is a non-profit organization dedicated to strengthening the national presence of the agricultural and applied economics profession, and has a long history of serving the profession and the nation.

“The C-FARE Board of Directors undertook an important strategic planning process, critical for the ongoing success of the organization and its volunteer experts network. We appreciate the hard work of the outgoing board members. They provided an important foundation for continuity of this organization’s mission” says Roger Coupal, Board Chairman, in a press release. “We have a wonderful group of leaders to take the torch and lead the organization forward. We warmly welcome all of the incoming directors.”

The directors provide leadership, governance, and oversight of the organization and its programming. C-FARE promotes the work of applied economists and serves as a catalyst for incorporating economic thinking into the analysis of food, agricultural and resource decisions.

The C-FARE continuing directors include:

  • Roger Coupal, University of Wyoming – Chair
  • Stephan Goetz, Penn State – Vice Chair
  • Damona Doye, Oklahoma State University – Past Chair
  • Daniel Lass, University of Massachusetts – Treasurer
  • C. Parr Rosson III, Texas A&M University

C-FARE’s new directors are:

  • Deacue Fields, Auburn University
  • Cathy Roheim, University of Idaho
  • Gal Hochman, Rutgers University
  • Spiro Stefanou, University of Florida
  • John Newton, American Farm Bureau Federation
  • Cynthia Clark, Retired, National Agricultural Statistics Service

“Agricultural and applied economics is not only an interesting discipline, it is also a rewarding discipline to work in because of its role in informing decision makers,” said Cathy Roheim, University of Idaho. “As a C-FARE board member, I look forward to facilitating new opportunities for our profession to interact with industry, government and other disciplines to address the many complex and challenging questions facing society.”

During a year-long strategic planning process, C-FARE also established five standing committees to govern its operations. The committees include the Executive Committee, Finance and Audit Committee, Associate Members and Strategic Partners Committee, the Program Committee, and the Communications Committee. C-FARE also welcomes the following new committee members:

  • Jeffrey L Jordan, University of Georgia
  • Neal H. Hooker, The Ohio State University
  • Daniel Solis, Florida A&M University
  • Craig Gundersen, University of Illinois

For more information, contact Caron Gala, executive director of C-FARE, at cgala@cfare.org.

Continue to full article